Pattern recognition is an area of research in Computer Science in which significant forays have been made in recent years, which have found application in a wide variety of domains. Path-breaking research in this area finds application in practically all aspects of the real world.

This is an area of interest not just to computer scientists but also to those involved in the physical and life sciences, engineering, medicine, the arts and commerce. It is therefore imperative that industry and academia get together to deliberate on this research area that is continuously churning out a plethora of possibilities for future technology.

It is with this perspective that the International Conference on Pattern Recognition Applications and Techniques was envisioned. It is hoped that the conference will be a point of convergence for budding and experienced researchers as well as industry practitioners.

The conference, slated for 1 & 2 March 2013, will be held at Meenakshi College Campus located in Kodambakkam, ChennaiIndia.

Dr. R. Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Advisor to the Prime Minister of India , Chairman, Scientific Advisory Committee to the Union Cabinet, Government of India, will inaugurate the conference and deliver the key note address


Original Papers are invited in the theoretical aspects of pattern recognition, as well as in areas such as the following in which pattern recognition is applied:

  • Engineering and Manufacturing
  • Bio-medical Engineering
  • Natural Language Processing
  • Satellite Imaging
  • Health
  • Security
  • Networking
  • Art
  • Multimedia
  • Archaeology
  • Audio Processing
  • Brain Modelling
  • Forensics
  • Computer Vision
  • Robotics
  • Gaming
  • Handwriting recognition
  • Data Mining
  • Geoscience

Events at the Conference
  • Invited Talks by stalwarts in the field of Pattern Recognition
  • Paper Presentations
  • Poster Presentation Competitions by College Students

Conference Chair

Dr. K. S. Lakshmi
Secretary, Meenakshi College for Women.


Conference Co-Chair

Ms. K. S. Babai
Secretary, Meenakshi Sundararajan Engineering College



Dr. Meenakshi Lakshmanan
Head, Department of Computer Science


Organizing Secretaries

  • Dr. Suganya R.
  • Mrs. Sujatha B.
  • Mrs. Meenakshi R.
  • Mrs. Sindhu Sabariraj
  • Ms. Rajitha V.
  • Mrs. Sumathy S.


Organizing Committee

  • Mrs. Sridevi C.
  • Ms. Chithra B.
  • Ms. Prabha R.
  • Mrs. Eliamma Sanya K. J.
  • Mrs. Merita Paulraj
  • Ms. Usha C.
  • Mrs. Sangeetha H.
  • Ms. Narmadha S.